Wellington Wandering

Oh, hi world!

Last week I had the chance to visit my home in Wellington, New Zealand. If you haven’t been, Wellington is an amazing cultural hub filled with lots of street art, art, boutiques, cool bars, fashion and great coffee.  It was a trip made up of part nostalgia and part exploration as I got to re-introduce myself to the city’s treasures.

So, over the next couple of posts I thought share with you some neat things I found along the way. Enjoy!

First up, some street art by a park in Aro Valley. There’s a small park, playground and a kindergarten.

The first image is hidden behind a building – I wonder if kids ever get scared by it’s menacing mouth and grumpy eyebrows?
I’m also impressed by the second one – the colours are so vibrant and the detail is so fun, perfect for children. I love the halo-effect around the right bear.

2013-05-29 22.48.42

I found similar artwork in Rex Royale, one of the many neat boutiques found on Cuba Street.

2013-05-29 22.56.59

I love the vomiting rainbow bears. 
2013-05-18 11.17.06

2013-05-18 11.17.13

2013-05-18 11.18.17

They also had this neat display of their jewellery that I wanted to steal.

2013-05-18 11.16.04

2013-05-18 11.16.11

Well, that’s all for now. Stay tuned for part 2!

Leave a Reply

